I bought my first road bike...

...with good intentions. Discuss road riding, commuting, routes, etc.
MTBjunkie

I bought my first road bike...

Postby MTBjunkie » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:01 am

And now I'm going to hell.

I found a sweet deal on an unnamed touring bike (that's in awesome condition) with racks and panniers from the local consignment shop here in Leadville. So I'll be randomly asking questions regarding parts and service as I have zero experience in this realm. The bike is not complete, but I also got a big tub of parts for free, so I'm hoping I can piece it together.

My first question is:
The bike has a Rolf wheelset. Will this hold up with a 200lb rider and touring gear for a multi-day ride?
For those that don't know me, I'm an aggressive mountain biker, so I tend to cringe at the sight of something that looks flimsy.

2nd:
The bike is without brake/shifting levers. Any suggestions on cheaper options that are not friction shifters?

3rd:
Any suggestions for a more relaxed handlebar that can function with a handlebar bag. How much does the width of the bar matter for comfort?

Thanks,

Shannon
Ride bikes and be happy.

tomy

Re: I bought my first road bike...

Postby tomy » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:55 am

MTBjunkie wrote:And now I'm going to hell.

you're gonna have some company 8)

Possum

Postby Possum » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:57 am

I got a set of Rolf Vector wheels with my cross bike. It has held up for gravel riding (I'm currently at about 215). I'm not sure how confident I would be about loaded touring. You're a pretty smooth rider, so you should get pretty good mileage out of them, but the "loaded touring" part might worry me.

I would look around for some 8 or 9 speed bar-end shifters vs. STI levers. Barcons are cheaper, easy to set up, and last forever. I find that the really nice DuraAce 7800 STI levers that I have need to be cleaned out and lubed on a reasonably regular basis to keep them working right, and it's a little annoying.